The Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) is now considering proposals to improve accessibility for mobility-challenged visitors to enter the historic Central Park Dairy and the Conservatory Garden.
Renderings have been revealed for a six-story, 30,000-square-foot building that will house the South Street Seaport Museum. Located at John and South Streets, the new construction is part of a massive undertaking by the Howard Hughes Corporation and Skidmore, Owings & Merrill in the South Street Seaport District that also includes 250 Water Street, the completed Pier 17 building, and the 75,000-square-foot New Market Building adjacent to the Tin Building, which is already in progress.
400 West 57th Street is an old architectural gem that stands at the western corner of West 57th Street and Ninth Avenue in the Manhattan neighborhood of Hell’s Kitchen. The eight-story edifice, although worn out and in need of restoration, features a beautiful fenestration of red and white brick masonry, gently bulging bay windows, arched casements, a handsome cornice with one pediment on the northern roofline, and a number of detailed running bonds showing the intricate hand laid craftsmanship. This was formally called The Windermere but has been left to deteriorate since the end of the 20th century.
New York’s Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) is currently reviewing proposals for new marquees and retail storefronts on the ground floor of the historic Paramount Building in Times Square. The 33-story structure is located at 1501 Broadway at the corner of 43rd Street and currently contains New York City’s only Hard Rock Cafe, ground-floor retail, and office space on the upper levels.
The Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) and local Community Board 7 have again failed to approve proposals to renovate and enliven an abandoned church that has been proposed as a new home for the Children’s Museum of Manhattan. Located on the Upper West Side at 361 Central Park West, the First Church of Christ Scientist was originally completed around 1903, then designated a New York City landmark in 1973.