Earlier this year, the Landmarks Preservation Commission reviewed proposals from BKSK Architects to renovate and convert the historic Margaret Louisa Home in Union Square into a hotel. The design team returned to the LPC with updated proposals following feedback and criticism of the original designs. Located at 16 East 16th Street, the six-story Margaret Louisa Home was completed in 1891 and included 78 bedrooms, parlor and reception rooms, private and public dining spaces, and laundry facilities for over 100 women who lived in the building.
The Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) is now considering proposals to improve accessibility for mobility-challenged visitors to enter the historic Central Park Dairy and the Conservatory Garden.
As New York City’s Department of Buildings begins to accelerate its review of new building proposals, a permit application from City Creek Reserve’s development team reveals an 11-story mixed-use building in Chelsea, Manhattan.
The Landmarks Preservation Commission is scheduled to review a proposal to partially renovate and repurpose the ground floor areas of the Emigrant Industrial Savings Bank in Lower Manhattan into an immersive digital museum and gallery. Titled “Hall Des Lumieres,” the exhibition would feature 3D projections of the works of famed Austrian painter Gustav Klimt and would require architectural modifications to both the building’s façade and landmarked interiors.
New renderings from Marin Architects reveal a forthcoming commercial property on Manhattan’s Lower East Side neighborhoods. Located at 108 Delancey Street, the building will eventually contain a mix of retail and office area comprising a total 14,000 square feet.